#### KNOX COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

The Knox County Board of Commissioners met in Special Session on Tuesday, February 20, 2007 at 9:30 a.m. in the Main Assembly Room of the City-County Building, Main Avenue. Those members present were Commissioners Jordan, Strickland, Mark Harmon, Bolus, Norman, Ivan Harmon, Cate, Tramel, Hammond, Craig Leuthold, Frank Leuthold, Cawood, Lambert, Smith, Moore, Ballard, Huddleston, Greene and Pinkston. Also present were Mr. John Owings, Knox County Law Director, Mr. Mike Ragsdale, Knox County Mayor, Mr. John Werner, Director, Knox County Finance, Mr. Bruce Wuethrich, Director, Engineering and Public Works and news media.

The following proceedings were had and entered of record to-wit: Commissioner Scott Moore, Chairman, presided.

\* \* \* \* \* \*

#### IN RE: ROLL CALL:

Mrs. Angie Nesbitt, Minutes Clerk to Knox County Clerk Billy Tindell called the roll.

#### \* \* \* \* \* \*

# IN RE: <u>CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE</u> <u>COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE APPROVING</u> COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS: R-07-2-SS-901:

Consideration of a Resolution of the Commission of Knox County, Tennessee approving committee appointments was before the Board of Commissioners.

Mr. John Owings, Knox County Law Director, was present and spoke on the matter.

Commissioner Pinkston moved to approve R-07-2-SS-901 -

Consideration of a Resolution of the Commission of Knox County,

Tennessee approving committee appointments and that the following Commissioners be appointed to the following committees:

Intergovernmental Committee: Commissioners Josh Jordan, Mark Harmon, Norman, Cate, Craig Leuthold, Lambert, Moore, Ballard and Greene.

\* \* \* \* \* \*

<u>Beer Board:</u> Commissioners Strickland, Bolus, Norman, Cate, Hammond, Lambert, Smith, Huddleston and Greene.

\* \* \* \* \* \*

<u>Rules Committee:</u> Commissioners Strickland, Bolus, Ivan Harmon, Sharon Cawood and Smith.

\* \* \* \* \* \*

<u>Procurement Committee:</u> Commissioners Craig Leuthold, Hammond, Lambert, Huddleston and Sharon Cawood.

\* \* \* \* \* \*

<u>Finance Committee:</u> Commissioners Strickland, Bolus, Ivan Harmon, Tramel, Frank Leuthold, Hammond, Sharon Cawood, Smith, Huddleston and Pinkston.

\* \* \* \* \* \*

<u>Cable TV:</u> Commissioners Hammond, Mark Harmon, Josh Jordan,

Ivan Harmon, Tramel, Sharon Cawood, Smith, Ballard and Pinkston.

\* \* \* \* \* \*

Tennessee County Services: Commissioners Moore and Strickland.

\* \* \* \* \* \*

Insolvency Board: Commissioners Smith, Ballard, Mark Harmon and Pinkston.

\* \* \* \* \* \*

<u>Committee on Committees:</u> Commissioners Josh Jordan, Tramel, Sharon Cawood, Lambert and Pinkston.

\* \* \* \* \* \*

Vacant Property Review: Commissioners Craig Leuthold and Greene.

\* \* \* \* \* \*

Court Subcommittee: Commissioners Norman, Moore, Tramel,

Pinkston and Craig Leuthold.

\* \* \* \* \* \*

Arena Use Committee: Commissioners Strickland, Moore and Lambert.

\* \* \* \* \* \*

Commissioner Ballard seconded the motion and upon roll call vote Commissioners Jordan, Strickland, Mark Harmon, Bolus, Norman, Ivan Harmon, Cate, Tramel, Hammond, Craig Leuthold, Frank Leuthold, Cawood, Lambert, Smith, Moore, Ballard, Huddleston, Greene and Pinkston voted aye. The motion carried 19-0-0-0.

\* \* \* \* \* \*

#### IN RE: AMENDMENT TO THE AGENDA:

At this time there were three (3) vacancies to the Pension Board.

\* \* \* \* \* \*

Commissioner Moore moved to appoint Commissioner Paul Pinkston to the Pension Board. Commissioner Tramel seconded the motion and upon roll call vote Commissioners Jordan, Strickland, Mark Harmon, Bolus, Norman, Ivan Harmon, Cate, Tramel, Hammond, Craig Leuthold, Frank Leuthold, Cawood, Lambert, Smith, Moore, Ballard, Huddleston, Greene and Pinkston voted aye. The motion carried 19-0-0-0.

\* \* \* \* \* \*

Commissioner Tramel moved to appoint Commissioner Scott Moore to the Pension Board. Commissioner Cate seconded the motion and upon roll call vote Commissioners Jordan, Strickland, Mark Harmon, Bolus, Norman, Ivan Harmon, Cate, Tramel, Hammond, Craig Leuthold, Frank Leuthold, Cawood, Lambert, Smith, Moore, Ballard, Huddleston, Greene and Pinkston voted aye. The motion carried 19-0-0-0.

\* \* \* \* \* \*

Commissioner Tramel moved to appoint Commissioner Thomas Strickland to the Pension Board. Commissioner Ballard seconded the motion and upon roll call vote Commissioners Jordan, Strickland, Mark Harmon, Bolus, Norman, Ivan Harmon, Cate, Tramel, Hammond, Craig Leuthold, Frank Leuthold, Cawood, Lambert, Smith, Moore, Ballard, Huddleston, Greene and Pinkston voted aye. The motion carried 19-0-0-0.

\* \* \* \* \* \*

The following were appointed to the Pension Board:

Pension Board: Ivan Harmon, Paul Pinkston, Scott Moore and Thomas Strickland.

\* \* \* \* \* \*

### IN RE: BOARD OF ZONING APPEAL:

Discussion of Board members to the Board of Zoning and Appeals was before the Board of Commissioners. Mr. John Owings, Knox County Law Director was present and stated Commissioners Phil Guthe, Mark Cawood and Diane Jordan can still serve on the Board of Zoning and Appeals.

Commissioner Moore stated Commissioner Guthe did not want to serve and he would send a letter of resignation.

Without objection, Commissioner Moore appointed Commissioner Lee Tramel to the Board of Zoning and Appeals subject to Commissioner Guthe's letter of resignation. The following members will be as follows:

Board of Zoning and Appeals: Commissioners Mark Cawood, Pinkston, Diane Jordan, Mark Harmon, Ivan Harmon, Tramel, Hammond, Moore and Ballard.

\* \* \* \* \* \*

#### IN RE: <u>AMENDMENT TO THE AGENDA:</u>

At this time the Intergovernmental and Finance Committee elected its Chairman and Vice-Chairman and reported as follows:

Intergovernmental Committee: Commissioners Craig Leuthold Chairman, Tony Norman –Vice Chairman, Josh Jordan, Mark Harmon, Richard Cate, Greg Lambert, Scott Moore, Phil Ballard and Tim Greene.

\* \* \* \* \* \*

Finance Committee: Commissioners Paul Pinkston, Chairman, Ivan Harmon, Vice-Chairman, Thomas Strickland, Chuck Bolus, Lee Tramel, Frank Leuthold, Mike Hammond, Sharon Cawood, Larry Smith, and Jack Huddleston.

\* \* \* \* \* \*

## IN RE: ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further business to come before the Board of Commissioners, Commissioner Moore declared the meeting adjourned.

SCOTT MOORE, CHAIRMAN