KNOX COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

The Knox County Board of Commissioners met in Special Session on Tuesday, February 20, 2007 at 8:00 a.m. in the Main Assembly Room of the City-County Building, Main Avenue. Those members present were Commissioners Jordan, Strickland, Mark Harmon, Bolus, Norman, Ivan Harmon, Cate, Tramel, Hammond, Craig Leuthold, Frank Leuthold, Cawood, Lambert, Smith, Moore, Ballard, Huddleston, Greene and Pinkston. Also present were Mr. John Owings, Knox County Law Director, Mr. Mike Ragsdale, Knox County Mayor, Mr. John Werner, Director, Knox County Finance, Mr. Bruce Wuethrich, Director, Engineering and Public Works and news media.

The following proceedings were had and entered of record to-wit: Commissioner Scott Moore, Chairman, presided.

* * * * * *

IN RE: ROLL CALL:

Mrs. Angie Nesbitt, Minutes Clerk to Knox County Clerk Billy Tindell called the roll.

* * * * * *

IN RE: CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE APPOINTING MEMBERS TO THE ETHICS COMMITTEE: R-07-2-110-SS:

Consideration of a Resolution of the Commission of Knox County, Tennessee appointing members to the Ethics Committee was before the Board of Commissioners.

Mr. Mike Ragsdale, Knox County Mayor, was present and recommended the following individuals be appointed to the Ethics Committee: Commissioners Phil Ballard, Larry Smith, Mike Hammond, Mark Harmon and Ms. Martha Phillips.

Mr. John Owings, Knox County Law Director, was present and spoke on the matter.

Commissioner Craig Leuthold moved to approve R-07-2-110-SS - Consideration of a Resolution of the Commission of Knox County, Tennessee appointing members to the Ethics Committee with the following names: Commissioners Phil Ballard, Larry Smith, Mike Hammond, Mark Harmon and Ms. Martha Phillips. Commissioner Mark Harmon seconded the motion.

Commissioner Hammond requested to divide the question and vote on each person individually.

Commissioner Moore moved as a substitute motion to defer to the February 26, 2007 Board of Commissioners meeting R-07-2-110-SS — Consideration of a Resolution of the Commission of Knox County, Tennessee appointing members to the Ethics Committee. Commissioner Pinkston seconded the motion and upon roll call vote Commissioners Jordan, Strickland, Bolus, Ivan Harmon, Cate, Tramel, Cawood, Lambert, Moore, Greene and Pinkston voted aye. Commissioners Mark Harmon, Norman, Hammond, Craig Leuthold, Frank Leuthold, Smith, Ballard and Huddleston voted no. The substitute motion carried 11-8-0-0.

* * * * * *

IN RE: CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE REQUESTING THE STATE LEGISLATURE TO AUTHORIZE A SPECIAL ELECTION IN 2007 FOR THE RECENTLY APPOINTED TWELVE KNOX COUNTY OFFICIALS:(NO RESOLUTION NUMBER)

Consideration of a Resolution of the Commission of Knox County, Tennessee requesting the state legislature to authorize a special election in 2007 for the recently appointed twelve Knox County officials was before the Board of Commissioners.

Mr. Mike Ragsdale, Knox County Mayor, was present and spoke on the matter.

Mr. Bud Gilbert, Attorney, was present and spoke on the matter.

Mr. John Owings, Knox County Law Director, was present and spoke on the matter.

Commissioner Hammond moved to approve Consideration of a Resolution of the Commission of Knox County, Tennessee requesting the state legislature to authorize a special election in 2007 for the recently appointed twelve Knox County officials. Commissioner Mark Harmon seconded the motion and upon roll call vote Commissioners Mark Harmon, Bolus, Norman, Cate, Hammond, Cawood, Smith and Ballard voted aye. Commissioners Jordan, Strickland, Ivan Harmon, Tramel, Frank Leuthold, Lambert, Moore, Huddleston, Greene and Pinkston voted no. Commissioner Craig Leuthold abstained from the vote. The motion failed 8-10-1-0.

* * * * * *

IN RE: ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further business to come before the Board of Commissioners, Commissioner Moore declared the meeting adjourned.

SCOTT MOORE, CHAIRMAN