KNOX COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

The Knox County Board of Commissioners met in Special Session on Tuesday, September 1, 2009 at 8:00 a.m. in the Main Assembly Room of the City-County Building, Main Avenue. Those members present were Commissioners McKenzie, Strickland, Mark Harmon, Broyles, Norman, Ivan Harmon, Saunders, Shouse, Hammond, Craig Leuthold, Briggs, Anders, Lambert, Smith, Carringer, Armstrong, Wright, Brown and Pinkston. Also present were Mr. Foster Arnett, Jr., Knox County Clerk, Mr. Joe Jarret, Knox County Chief Deputy Law Director, and members of the news media.

Mr. Foster Arnett, Jr., Knox County Clerk, presided. The following proceedings were had and entered of record to-

wit:

IN RE: ROLL CALL:

Mrs. Kim Ellis, Minutes Clerk to the Knox County Clerk, called the roll.

* * * * * *

* * * * * *

IN RE: CONSIDERATION OF THE RE-ORGANIZATION OF THE KNOX COUNTY COMMISSION:

Consideration of the re-organization of the Knox County Commission was before the Board of Commissioners.

Upon roll call for nominations for Chairman of the Board of Commissioners, Commissioner McKenzie nominated Commissioner Thomas Strickland. Commissioner Strickland passed. Commissioner Mark Harmon passed. Commissioner Broyles passed. Commissioner Norman nominated Commissioner Richard Briggs. Commissioner Ivan Harmon passed. Commissioner Saunders passed. Commissioner Shouse passed. Commissioner Hammond passed. Commissioner Craig Leuthold passed. Commissioner Briggs nominated Commissioner Craig Leuthold. Commissioner Anders passed. Commissioner Lambert passed. Commissioner Smith nominated Commissioner Mike Hammond. Commissioner Hammond declined. Commissioner Carringer passed. Commissioner Armstrong passed. Commissioner Wright passed. Commissioner Brown passed. Commissioner Pinkston passed.

Upon roll call for Chairman of the Board of Commissioners, Commissioners McKenzie, Strickland, Mark Harmon, Broyles, Ivan Harmon, Saunders, Shouse, Hammond and Lambert voted for Commissioner Strickland. Commissioners Craig Leuthold, Briggs, Anders, Smith, Carringer, Armstrong, Wright, Brown and Pinkston voted for Commissioner Craig Leuthold. Commissioner Norman voted for Commissioner Briggs. Commissioner Strickland received 9 votes. Commissioner Craig Leuthold received 9 votes. Commissioner Briggs received 1 vote.

Upon roll call for Chairman of the Board of Commissioners, Commissioners McKenzie, Strickland, Mark Harmon, Broyles, Norman, Ivan Harmon, Saunders, Shouse, Hammond, Briggs, Anders and Lambert voted for Commissioner Strickland. Commissioners Craig Leuthold, Smith, Carringer, Armstrong, Wright, Brown and Pinkston voted for Commissioner Craig Leuthold. Commissioner Strickland received 12 votes. Commissioner Craig Leuthold received 7 votes. Commissioner Thomas Strickland was elected Chairman of the Board of Commissioners.

* * * * * *

Mr. Foster Arnett, Jr. Knox County Clerk, stepped down from the Chair at this time and Commissioner Strickland, Chairman, presided.

* * * * * *

Upon roll call for nominations for Vice-Chairman of the Board of Commissioners, Commissioner McKenzie nominated Commissioner Craig Leuthold. Commissioner Strickland passed. Commissioner Mark Harmon passed. Commissioner Broyles passed. Commissioner Norman passed. Commissioner Ivan Harmon passed. Commissioner Saunders passed. Commissioner Shouse passed. Commissioner Hammond passed. Commissioner Craig Leuthold passed. Commissioner Briggs passed. Commissioner Anders passed. Commissioner Lambert passed. Commissioner Smith passed. Commissioner Carringer passed. Commissioner Armstrong passed. Commissioner Wright passed. Commissioner Brown passed. Commissioner Pinkston passed.

Commissioner Hammond moved that Commissioner Craig Leuthold be elected Vice-Chairman of the Board of Commissioners by acclamation. Commissioner Shouse seconded the motion and upon roll call vote Commissioners McKenzie, Strickland, Mark Harmon, Broyles, Norman, Ivan Harmon, Saunders, Shouse, Hammond, Craig Leuthold, Briggs, Anders, Lambert, Smith, Carringer, Armstrong, Wright, Brown and Pinkston voted aye. The motion carried 19-0-0-0. Commissioner Craig Leuthold was elected Vice-Chairman of the Board of Commissioners.

* * * * * *

IN RE: ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further business to come before the Knox County Board of Commissioners, Commissioner Strickland declared the meeting adjourned.

* * * * * *

KNOX COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

THOMAS STRICKLAND, CHAIRMAN