KNOX COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

The Knox County Board of Commissioners met in Special Session on Monday, June 21, 2010 at 10:00 a.m. in the Main Assembly Room of the City-County Building, Main Avenue. Those members present were Commissioners Strickland, Broyles, Norman, Ivan Harmon, Saunders, Shouse, Hammond, Leuthold, Briggs, Anders, Lambert, Smith, Carringer, Armstrong, Wright, Brown and Pinkston. Commissioners McKenzie and Mark Harmon were absent from the meeting. Also present were Mr. Joe Jarret, Knox County Interim Law Director, Mrs. Susan Crabtree, Deputy Law Director and news media.

The following proceedings were had and entered of record to-wit: Commissioner Strickland, Chairman, presided.

* * * * * *

IN RE: ROLL CALL:

Mrs. Sandra Sexton, Minutes Clerk to the Knox County Clerk, called the roll.

* * * * * *

<u>IN RE:</u> <u>CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE</u> <u>COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE APPOINTING</u> <u>TO SERVE THE UNEXPIRED TERM OF KNOX</u> <u>COUNTY LAW DIRECTOR THROUGH AUGUST 31, 2012:</u> <u>R-10-6-101-SS:</u>

Consideration of a Resolution of the Commission of Knox County, Tennessee appointing ______ to serve the unexpired term of Knox County Law Director through August 31, 2012 was before the Board of Commissioners.

Mrs. Susan Crabtree, Deputy Law Director, was present and spoke on the matter.

Upon roll call vote for nominations for Knox County Law Director Commissioner Strickland nominated Mr. George Underwood, Commissioner Broyles nominated Mr. Joe Jarret, Commissioner Norman passed, Commissioner Ivan Harmon passed, Commissioner Saunders passed, Commissioner Shouse passed, Commissioner Hammond passed, Commissioner Leuthold passed, Commissioner Briggs passed, Commissioner Anders passed, Commissioner Lambert passed, Commissioner Smith nominated Mr. David Buuck, Commissioner Carringer passed, Commissioner Armstrong passed, Commissioner Wright passed, Commissioner Brown passed and Commissioner Pinkston passed. Commissioners Mark Harmon and McKenzie were absent from the meeting. Mr. George Underwood, Mr. Joe Jarret and Mr. David Buuck were the nominees for Knox County Law Director.

Upon roll call vote for Knox County Law Director Commissioner Strickland voted for Mr. George Underwood, Commissioners Broyles, Norman, Ivan Harmon, Saunders, Shouse, Hammond, Leuthold, Briggs, Anders, Lambert, Smith, Carringer, Armstrong, Wright, Brown and Pinkston voted for Mr. Joe Jarret. Commissioners McKenzie and Mark Harmon were absent from the meeting.

Mr. George Underwood received 1vote.

Mr. Joe Jarret received 16 votes.

Commissioner Anders moved that the nominations for Knox County Law Director cease. Commissioner Brown seconded the motion and upon roll call vote Commissioners Strickland, Broyles, Norman, Ivan Harmon, Saunders, Shouse, Hammond, Leuthold, Briggs, Anders, Lambert, Smith Carringer, Armstrong, Wright, Brown and Pinkston. The motion carried 17-0-0-2. Commissioners McKenzie and Mark Harmon were absent from the meeting.

Mr. Joe Jarret was appointed Knox County Law Director and he also spoke on the matter.

* * * * * *

IN RE: ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further business to come before the Knox County Board of Commissioners, Commissioner Strickland declared the meeting adjourned.

THOMAS STRICKLAND, CHAIRMAN