KNOX COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

The Knox County Board of Commissioners met in Special Session on Monday, September 20, 2010 at 1:45 p.m. in the Main Assembly Room of the City-County Building, Main Avenue. Those members present were Commissioners McKenzie, Broyles, Norman, Ownby, Briggs, Anders, Smith, Wright, Hammond and Shouse. Commissioner Brown was absent from the meeting. Also present were Mr. Joe Jarret, Knox County Law Director, Mr. Tim Burchett, Knox County Mayor, and members of the news media.

Commissioner Hammond, Chairman, presided. The following proceedings were had and entered of record to-

* * * * * *

IN RE: ROLL CALL:

wit:

Mrs. Kim Ellis, Minutes Clerk to the Knox County Clerk, called the roll.

* * * * * *

IN RE: CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE
COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE, APPOINTING A
MEMBER TO SERVE AS THE SEVENTH DISTRICT STATE
SENATOR UNTIL THE NOVEMBER 2010 GENERAL ELECTION
RESULTS ARE CERTIFIED – R-10-9-105-SS:

Consideration of a resolution of the Commission of Knox County, Tennessee, appointing a member to serve as the Seventh District State Senator until the November 2010 General Election results are certified was before the Board of Commissioners.

Mr. Joe Jarret, Knox County Law Director, and Mr. Tim
Burchett, Knox County Mayor, were present and spoke on the matter.

Upon roll call for nominations for Seventh District State
Senator, Commissioner McKenzie nominated Mr. Joseph (Chuck) L.
Williams, Jr. Commissioner Broyles passed. Commissioner Norman
nominated Mr. George Cranwell Montgomery. Commissioner Ownby
nominated Mr. Steve Hill. Commissioner Briggs passed. Commissioner
Anders passed. Commissioner Smith passed. Commissioner Wright passed.
Commissioner Hammond passed. Commissioner Shouse passed.
Commissioner Brown was absent from the meeting. No nominations were
given from citizens.

Upon roll call for Seventh District State Senator, Commissioners Ownby, Anders, Smith and Shouse voted for Mr. Hill. Commissioners Norman, Briggs and Hammond voted for Mr. Montgomery. Commissioners McKenzie and Broyles voted for Mr. Williams. Commissioner Wright abstained from voting. Commissioner Brown was absent from the meeting.

Mr. Hill received 4 votes. Mr. Montgomery received 3 votes. Mr. Williams received 2 votes.

Upon roll call for Seventh District State Senator, Commissioners McKenzie, Broyles, Norman, Briggs and Hammond voted for Mr. Montgomery. Commissioners Ownby, Anders, Smith and Shouse voted for Mr. Hill. Commissioner Wright abstained from voting. Commissioner Brown was absent from the meeting.

Mr. Montgomery received 5 votes. Mr. Hill received 4 votes. Upon roll call for Seventh District State Senator,

Commissioners McKenzie, Broyles, Norman, Briggs and Hammond voted for Mr. Montgomery. Commissioners Ownby, Anders, Smith and Shouse voted for Mr. Hill. Commissioner Wright abstained from voting. Commissioner Brown was absent from the meeting.

Mr. Montgomery received 5 votes. Mr. Hill received 4 votes.

At this time, there was a request for the nominees to address the Commission. Mr. Steve Hill was present and spoke. Mr. Montgomery was not present at the meeting.

Upon roll call for Seventh District State Senator, Commissioners Ownby, Briggs, Anders, Smith, Wright, Hammond and Shouse voted for Mr. Hill. Commissioners McKenzie, Broyles and Norman voted for Mr. Montgomery. Commissioner Brown was absent from the meeting.

Mr. Hill received 7 votes. Mr. Montgomery received 3 votes.

Mr. Steve Hill was appointed Seventh District State Senator by Resolution R-10-9-105-SS – Resolution of the Commission of Knox County, Tennessee, appointing Steve Hill to serve as the Seventh District State Senator until the November 2010 General Election results are certified.

At this time, Mr. Hill was sworn in by Judge Tony Stansberry.

* * * * * *

IN RE: AMENDMENTS TO THE AGENDA:

1. At this time, Mr. Tim Burchett, Knox County Mayor, presented a proclamation to the Knox County Veterans for Knox County's POW/MIA Recognition Week.

* * * * * *

IN RE: CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE, APPROVING APPOINTMENTS TO THE COMMITTEES OF THE KNOX COUNTY COMMISSION – R-10-9-106-SS:

Consideration of a resolution of the Commission of Knox County, Tennessee, approving appointments to the Committees of the Knox County Commission was before the Board of Commissioners.

The caption was revised to read as follows: Consideration of a resolution of the Commission of Knox County, Tennessee, ratifying the Committee on Committees' appointments the Committees of the Knox County Commission.

Mr. Joe Jarret, Knox County Law Director, was present and spoke on the matter.

Commissioner Smith moved to approve Resolution R-10-9-106-SS - Resolution of the Commission of Knox County, Tennessee, ratifying the Committee on Committees' appointments the Committees of the Knox County Commission. Commissioner Anders seconded the motion and upon roll call vote Commissioners McKenzie, Broyles, Norman, Ownby, Briggs, Anders, Smith, Wright, Hammond and Shouse voted aye. Commissioner Brown was absent from the meeting. The motion carried 10-0-0-1.

* * * * * *

IN RE: AMENDMENTS TO THE AGENDA:

2. At this time, there was a request for the Law Director to draft a new ordinance for the composition of the Investment Committee to reflect the changes in the make up of the commission and that it be added to the agenda for the September 27, 2010 Board of Commissioners meeting.

Mr. Joe Jarret, Knox County Law Director, was present and spoke on the matter.

* * * * * *

IN RE: ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further business to come before the Knox County Board of Commissioners, Commissioner Hammond declared the meeting adjourned.

KNOX COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

MIKE HAMMOND, CHAIRMAN