KNOX COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

The Knox County Board of Commissioners met in Special Session on Monday, January 12, 2015 at 4:55 p.m. in the Main Assembly Room of the City-County Building, Main Avenue. Those members present were Commissioners McKenzie, Broyles, Smith, Ownby, Anders, Busler, Wright, Brown, Thomas and Brantley. Also present were Mr. Richard Armstrong, Knox County Law Director, Mr. Chris Caldwell, Knox County Finance Director, and members of the news media.

Commissioner Anders, Chairman, presided.
The following proceedings were had and entered of record to-wit:

IN RE: ROLL CALL:

Mrs. Kim Ellis, Minutes Clerk to the Knox County Clerk, called the roll.

IN RE: CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE, APPOINTING AN INDIVIDUAL TO SERVE IN THE OFFICE OF KNOX COUNTY COMMISSIONER, SEAT 5, REPRESENTING THE 5TH COMMISSION DISTRICT THROUGH AUGUST 31, 2016 – R-15-1-101-SS:

* * * * * *

Consideration of a Resolution of the Commission of Knox County, Tennessee, appointing an individual to serve in the office of Knox County Commissioner, Seat 5, representing the 5th Commission District through August 31, 2016 was before the Board of Commissioners.

Upon roll call for nominations for Knox County Commissioner, District 5, Commissioner McKenzie passed. Commissioner Broyles nominated Ms. Tamara Boyer. Commissioner Smith nominated Mr. Mike Manning. Commissioner Ownby nominated Mr. Ron Rochelle. Commissioner Anders nominated Mr. Grant Standefer. Commissioner Busler passed. Commissioner Wright nominated Mr. John Schoonmaker. Commissioner Brown passed. Commissioner Thomas nominated Mr. J. Kelly Clancy. Commissioner Brantley nominated Mr. David Freeman.

Upon roll call for Knox County Commissioner, District 5, Commissioners Busler, Wright, Brown, Thomas and Brantley voted for Mr. Schoonmaker. Commissioners Broyles, Smith and Ownby voted for Ms. Boyer. Commissioners McKenzie and Anders voted for Mr. Standefer. Mr. Schoonmaker received 5 votes. Ms. Boyer received 3 votes. Mr. Standefer received 2 votes. Mr. Clancy received 0 votes. Mr. Freeman received 0 votes. Mr. Manning received 0 votes. Mr. Rochelle received 0 votes.

Upon roll call for Knox County Commissioner, District 5, Commissioners Busler, Wright, Brown, Thomas and Brantley voted for Mr. Schoonmaker. Commissioners Broyles, Smith, Ownby and Anders voted for Ms. Boyer. Commissioners McKenzie voted for Mr. Standefer.

Mr. Schoonmaker received 5 votes. Ms. Boyer received 4 votes. Mr. Standefer received 1 vote.

Upon roll call for Knox County Commissioner, District 5, Commissioners McKenzie, Broyles, Smith, Ownby, Anders, Busler, Wright, Brown, Thomas and Brantley voted for Mr. Schoonmaker.

Mr. Schoonmaker received 10 votes.

Commissioner Wright moved to approve Resolution R-15-1-101-SS - Resolution of the Commission of Knox County, Tennessee, appointing John Schoonmaker to serve in the office of Knox County Commissioner, Seat 5, representing the 5th Commission District through August 31, 2016. Commissioner Broyles seconded the motion and upon roll call vote Commissioners McKenzie, Broyles, Smith, Ownby, Anders, Busler, Wright, Brown, Thomas and Brantley voted aye. The motion carried 10-0-0-0.

* * * * * *

IN RE: ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further business to come before the Knox County Board of Commissioners, Commissioner Anders declared the meeting adjourned.

KNOX COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

BRAD ANDERS, CHAIRMAN	