KNOX COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS SPECIAL SESSION

The Knox County Board of Commissioners met in Special Session on Monday, April 13, 2015 at 5:00 P.M. in the Main Assembly Room of the City-County Building, Main Avenue. Those members present were Commissioners McKenzie, Smith, Ownby, Schoonmaker, Anders, Busler, Wright, Brown, Thomas and Brantley. Commissioner Broyles was absent from the meeting. Also present were Mr. Richard Armstrong, Knox County Law Director, Mr. David Buuck, Knox County Chief Deputy Law Director, Mr. Chris Caldwell, Director, Knox County Finance, and news media.

The following proceedings were had and entered of record to-wit: Commissioner Anders, Chairman, presided.

* * * * * *

IN RE: CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL: (5:00 P. M.)

Commissioner Anders called the meeting to order.

Mrs. Angie Nesbitt, Minutes Clerk to the Knox County Clerk, called the roll. Those members present were Commissioners McKenzie, Smith, Ownby, Schoonmaker, Anders, Busler, Wright, Brown, Thomas and Brantley. Commissioner Broyles was absent from the meeting.

* * * * * *

IN RE: CONSIDERATION OF A RESOLUTION OF THE COMMISSION OF KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE APPOINTING _______ TO SERVE AS JUDICIAL MAGISTRATE FOR KNOX COUNTY, SEAT D: R-15-4-101-SS:

Consideration of a Resolution of the Commission of Knox County,
Tennessee appointing _______ to serve as Judicial Magistrate for
Knox County, Seat D was before the Board of Commissioners.

Upon roll call for nominations for Judicial Magistrate for Knox County, Seat D, Commissioner McKenzie passed. Commissioner Broyles was absent from the meeting. Commissioner Smith nominated Dustin Dunham. Commissioner Ownby passed. Commissioner Schoonmaker nominated Ms. Sharon Frankenberg. Commissioner Anders nominated Mr. Alexander Brown. Commissioner Busler passed. Commissioner Wright passed. Commissioner Brown nominated Michael Cabage. Commissioner Thomas nominated Ms. Rhonda Lee. Commissioner Brantley nominated Mr. Patrick Looper.

Commissioner Anders moved that the nominations cease. The following people were nominated for Judicial Magistrate for Knox County, Seat D: Mr.

Alexander Brown, Mr. Michael Cabage, Mr. Dustin Dunham, Ms. Sharon Frankenberg, Ms. Rhonda Lee and Mr. Patrick Looper.

Upon roll call vote for Judicial Magistrate for Knox County, Seat D, Commissioner McKenzie passed, Commissioner Broyles was absent from the meeting. Commissioner Smith voted for Mr. Dustin Dunham. Commissioners Ownby, Schoonmaker, Busler, Wright and Thomas voted for Ms. Sharon Frankenberg. Commissioner Anders voted for Mr. Alexander Brown. Commissioners Brown and Brantley voted for Mr. Michael Cabage.

- Mr. Dustin Dunham received 1 vote.
- Ms. Sharon Frankenberg received 5 votes.
- Mr. Michael Cabage received 2 vote.
- Mr. Alexander Brown received 1 vote.

Upon roll call vote for Judicial Magistrate for Knox County, Seat D, Commissioner McKenzie passed, Commissioner Smith voted for Mr. Dustin Dunham. Commissioners Ownby, Schoonmaker, Anders, Busler, Wright, Thomas and Brantley voted for Ms. Sharon Frankenberg. Commissioner Brown voted for Mr. Michael Cabage.

- Ms. Sharon Frankenberg received 7 votes.
- Mr. Dustin Dunham received 1 vote.
- Mr. Michael Cabage received 1 vote.

Consideration of a Resolution of the Commission of Knox County, Tennessee appointing Ms. Sharon Frankenberg to serve as Judicial Magistrate for Knox County, Seat D. Commissioner Schoonmaker seconded the motion and upon roll call vote Commissioners Smith, Ownby, Schoonmaker, Anders, Busler, Wright, Thomas and Brantley voted aye. Commissioner Brown voted no. Commissioner McKenzie abstained from the vote. Commissioner Broyles was absent from the meeting. The motion carried 8-1-1-1.

* * * * * *

<u>IN RE:</u> <u>ADJOURNMENT:</u>

There being no further business to come before the Knox County Board of Commissioners, Commissioner Anders declared the meeting adjourned.

BRAD ANDERS, CHAIRMAN