## KNOX COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

The Knox County Board of Commissioners met in Special Session on Monday, September 10, 2007 at 6:30 p.m. in the Main Assembly Room of the City-County Building, Main Avenue. Those members present were Commissioners Jordan, Strickland, Bolus, Norman, Ivan Harmon, Cate, Tramel, Craig Leuthold, Frank Leuthold, Cawood, Lambert, Smith, Moore, Ballard, Huddleston, Greene and Pinkston. Commissioners Mark Harmon and Hammond were absent from the meeting. Also present were Mr. Richard Walls, Knox County Internal Auditor, Mr. John Owings, Knox County Law Director, Mr. John Troyer, Senior Director for Knox County Finance, and members of the news media.

Mrs. Angie Nesbitt, Minutes Clerk to the Knox County Clerk, presided.

The following proceedings were had and entered of record towit:

\* \* \* \* \* \*

# IN RE: ROLL CALL:

Mrs. Angie Nesbitt, Minutes Clerk to the Knox County Clerk, called the roll.

\* \* \* \* \* \*

### <u>IN RE:</u> <u>REORGANIZATION OF THE KNOX COUNTY</u> <u>COMMISSION PURSUANT TO SECTION 2.06 OF THE KNOX</u> <u>COUNTY CODE:</u>

Reorganization of the Knox County Commission pursuant to Section 2.06 of the Knox County Code was before the Board of Commissioners.

Upon roll call for nominations for Chairman of the Knox County Commission, Commissioner Jordan nominated Commissioner Scott Moore. Commissioner Strickland passed. Commissioner Bolus passed. Commissioner Norman nominated Commissioner Frank Leuthold. Commissioner Ivan Harmon passed. Commissioner Cate passed. Commissioner Tramel passed. Commissioner Craig Leuthold passed. Commissioner Frank Leuthold passed. Commissioner Cawood passed. Commissioner Lambert passed. Commissioner Smith passed. Commissioner Moore passed. Commissioner Ballard passed. Commissioner Huddleston passed. Commissioner Greene passed. Commissioner Pinkston passed. Commissioners Mark Harmon and Hammond were absent from the meeting. Commissioner Frank Leuthold declined nomination for Chairman of the Knox County Commission.

Commissioner Frank Leuthold moved that nominations cease for Chairman of the Knox County Commission. Commissioner Craig Leuthold seconded the motion and upon roll call vote for Chairman of the Knox County Commission, Commissioners Jordan, Strickland, Bolus, Norman, Ivan Harmon, Cate, Tramel, Craig Leuthold, Frank Leuthold, Cawood, Lambert, Smith, Moore, Ballard, Huddleston, Greene and Pinkston voted for Commissioner Scott Moore. Commissioners Mark Harmon and Hammond were absent from the meeting. Commissioner Scott Moore received 17 votes.

Commissioner Scott Moore was elected Chairman of the Knox County Commission.

\* \* \* \* \* \*

At this time, Mrs. Angie Nesbitt, Minutes Clerk to the Knox County Clerk, stepped down from the Chair and Commissioner Moore, Chairman, presided.

\* \* \* \* \* \*

Upon roll call for nominations for Vice-Chairman of the Knox County Commission, Commissioner Jordan nominated Commissioner Thomas Strickland. Commissioner Strickland passed. Commissioner Bolus passed. Commissioner Norman passed. Commissioner Ivan Harmon passed. Commissioner Cate passed. Commissioner Tramel passed. Commissioner Craig Leuthold passed. Commissioner Frank Leuthold passed. Commissioner Cawood passed. Commissioner Lambert passed. Commissioner Smith passed. Commissioner Moore passed. Commissioner Ballard passed. Commissioner Huddleston passed. Commissioner Greene passed. Commissioner Pinkston passed. Commissioners Mark Harmon and Hammond were absent from the meeting.

Commissioner Craig Leuthold moved that nominations cease for Vice-Chairman of the Knox County Commission. The motion was seconded and upon roll call vote for Vice-Chairman of the Knox County Commission, Commissioners Jordan, Strickland, Bolus, Norman, Ivan Harmon, Cate, Tramel, Craig Leuthold, Frank Leuthold, Cawood, Lambert, Smith, Moore, Ballard, Huddleston, Greene and Pinkston voted for Commissioner Thomas Strickland. Commissioners Mark Harmon and Hammond were absent from the meeting. Commissioner Thomas Strickland received 17 votes.

Commissioner Thomas Strickland was elected Vice-Chairman of the Knox County Commission.

#### \* \* \* \* \* \*

### IN RE: RECEIVING AND CONSIDERATION OF THE KNOX COUNTY INTERNAL AUDITOR'S TRAVEL ALLOWANCE REPORT AND POSSIBLE ACTION:

Receiving and consideration of the Knox County Internal Auditor's Travel Allowance Report and possible action was before the Board of Commissioners.

Mr. Richard Walls, Knox County Internal Auditor, Mr. John Troyer, Senior Director for Knox County Finance, and Mr. John Owings, Knox County Law Director, were present and spoke on the matter.

Commissioner Pinkston moved to request five (5) individuals to reimburse the travel allowances. The motion was seconded.

Commissioner Craig Leuthold moved as a substitute motion to add this item to the September 2007 Board of Commissioners Regular Session meeting agenda. Commissioner Norman seconded the motion and upon roll call vote Commissioners Jordan, Strickland, Bolus, Norman, Ivan Harmon, Cate, Tramel, Craig Leuthold, Frank Leuthold, Cawood, Lambert, Smith, Ballard and Huddleston voted aye. Commissioners Moore, Greene and Pinkston voted no. Commissioners Mark Harmon and Hammond were absent from the meeting. The substitute motion carried 14-3-0-2.

Commissioner Tramel moved to proceed with the investigation as described in Section 2.02H of the Knox County Charter. Commissioner Pinkston seconded the motion and upon roll call vote Commissioners Jordan, Strickland, Bolus, Norman, Ivan Harmon, Cate, Tramel, Craig Leuthold, Frank Leuthold, Cawood, Lambert, Moore, Greene and Pinkston voted aye. Commissioner Smith voted no. Commissioners Ballard and Huddleston abstained from voting. Commissioners Mark Harmon and Hammond were absent from the meeting. The motion carried 14-1-2-2.

## IN RE: ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further business to come before the Knox County Board of Commissioners, Commissioner Moore declared the meeting adjourned.

#### \* \* \* \* \* \*

#### KNOX COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

#### SCOTT MOORE, CHAIRMAN